Mean Green Fuel for the Machine

My husband and I have been going strong for about three weeks now with our daily green machine smoothies (although he only drinks them because I make them and hand it to him as he walks out the door.) Either way, he is drinking and enjoying them! I have made them a little different each day, based on the fresh (or frozen) fruits and veggies I have on hand. The one thing that has remained consistent is the greens. My husband is a cereal man and although he now knows what “healthier” cereal options to pick, I find these to be a good add on to his routine. These smoothies are also excellent for children who are in the “no” phase when in comes to vegetables, or maybe your child has been in that phase their whole life? Many of my pediatric clients (and families) have found success incorporating veggies into their diets this way, without the food battle, which never ends well.

I usually start my smoothies by putting just a little (maybe a 1/4 c, or less) 100% Natural Orange Juice at the bottom. I like the flavor it adds, but it also helps the fruit from sticking to the bottom of the cup which makes things blend better, you can also add just plain water if you prefer. Today I added one large banana ( I used about 3/4 of a banana for my husbands smoothie, and bout 1/4 c for mine) He loves bananas, but I prefer to add extra greens to mine, so I left more room for that!

After the banana I added about 4 large strawberries to each cup. I like to get mine from our local farmers market since we have such great produce! But, the grocery store works well too πŸ˜‰ After the strawberries, I added 1/2 c of Fage All Natural Greek Yogurt, Plain (unsweetened) 0% fat. This is a great way to make smoothies without milk and also packs on the protein. In 1/2 c there is about 65 calories, 12 g protein, 5 g of carbohydrate and zero fat. Then, I pile on the greens!! I usually try to get 1-2 cups in each of our smoothies, which is easier to do if you rip the greens apart with your hands (or cut them up finely) before you put them in the cups.

I have been buying the Earthbound Organics Power Blend (in the large bag) from Costco, and it has been working beyoutifully! I love the boost of Fiber as well as its rich source of Vitamins A & C along with being a good source of both Iron and Calcium. Below is the bag, for anyone that might be a Costco frequent like I am! But of course, going to the local farmers market is great too if you live in an area that has them, I like to do both!

greens

After I have all my add ins, I top each smoothie with about 1 Tbsp. of Chia Seeds (you can also use flax seeds or any other you like) The Chia Seeds are great in smoothies and add on an additional 3 g protein and 6 g fiber in 1 Tbsp.

This is what my final product looked like before being blended!

smoothie

And here is the “after” look! you can see just how much of a Green Machine this really is!

smoothie2

Happy Blending! Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Mean Green Fuel for the Machine

  1. Pingback: 10 Ways to Add Fruits and Veggies to Your Diet | Ruby & Pearls

  2. Pingback: 10 Ways to Add Fruits and Veggies to Your Diet

Leave a Reply

